Warren Fahey - AUSTRALIA: Folk Songs and Bush Verse - CD 7

  • Model: TN1007-83
  • Shipping Weight: 0.125kgs
  • 99 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:

Traditional songs are the product of the community rather than songs created for commercial gain. The majority of the songs and poems on this album express anger or frustration ñ all expressed in their own individual style. Some make their point with wit and parody, some hit like a hammer; others leave you up in the air. This collection follows four main threads exploring the songs associated with political and social change in an ever-changing Australia: the shearing strikes of the 1890s, the struggles on the coalfields, early factory life, and the Australian at war.

Track Listing

   1. A Bushman's Song
   2. Shearer's Hardships (The Chinese Cook)
   3. The Union Boy
   4. Unity Boys
   5. Baa Baa Merino Sheep
   6. Knock! Knock!
   7. That Dirty Little Traitor, Billy Hughes
   8. Billy Hughes' Army
   9. The Win The War Party
  10. The Miner
  11. When You Give That Tuppence Back, Charlie Dear
  12. Lithgow Onwards Struggle
  13. Norman Brown
  14. Packer The Scab
  15. The Sunshine Railway Disaster
  16. Billy Sheehan
  17. Rafferty And Cafferty
  18. Bump Me Into Parliament
  19. The New Exhibit
  20. Tom Blamey's Boys
  21. The Great Australian Adjective
  22. The Nose On My Old Man
  23. Dear Liz
  24. Hanging On The Old Barbed Wire
  25. How Would Yer Be?

About the artist: Offering a unique repertoire of rare broadsides, goldfields minstrel songs, old bush songs, larrikin ditties, children's rhymes and songs about early city slickers. Warren Fahey is joined by fellow 'larrikins' Marcus Holden, Clare O'Meara and Garry Steel.

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 05 May, 2009.


Zen Cart the art of e-commerce

Have you seen ...

Zen Cart the art of e-commerce

Who's Online

There currently are 16 guests online.
Copyright © 2021 Trad&Now. Powered by Zen Cart